Originally, I thought that the most frustrating part of my day was going to be the traffic. It took me almost exactly 2 hours to get to the garage today. And I left a few minutes after I left yesterday. Lesson learned. Leave at 7:30, just in case.
I know that it's nice to be able to sleep in til 7 and to start class at 10, but honestly... driving in rush hour traffic sucks.
As for the more frustrating part today, well, the coding. At the start, my partner and I (new partner from yesterday), got the main program done. It was pretty simple, but we did have a few issues. Nothing too bad though. Also, we kind of embarrassed ourselves in front of the instructor but not taking out certain extra bits of 'helper' code we had in the game. However, we got the initial program right.
Learning git was not hard. It was very similar to SVN, so no real problems there.
BUT, after the afternoon lecture, we had to do the extra credit... or the extra parts to our earlier guess game program. Talk about frustrating! It was so hard to get it right. In fact, I think we only got 1 part of 4 correct.
Pair programming is great, but sometimes, it's really hard to communicate how you are thinking. And it gets even harder and more frustrating as you get more frustrated and tired. By the end of the day, you just want to not think about while loops or conditional statements. I feel bad because I was definitely not explaining my thinking to my partner and I am sure I confused her a lot today.
Some of the other students finished early and were helping us out. This was great! But, once they finished helping us in one area, it was kind of hard to accept more help in other areas. Not because they are students and not teachers, but because I really wanted to try to figure it out for myself and with my partner.
After a long drive home (one hour and 45 minutes or so), I spent the next 2-3 hours working on finishing up the exercises. It's not perfect, but it works.
Well, tomorrow is another day and hopefully, it will be better. It's covering lists and I'm weak with those in terms of remembering all the operations that can be done with them. Fingers crossed my memory engages.
Oh, there was a camera crew there too. My partner and I were filmed and interviewed. All I could think about was the huge zit on my chin and the fact I was probably slouching while being interviewed. I'm sure my mom would be appalled. Sigh...
No comments:
Post a Comment